Mountain Biking

I’ll be honest. I’m a mountain biker through and through. I’ve been riding mountain bikes from the day I learnt how to balance on two wheels. It’s my favourite type of riding and it has to be the most exhilarating.

Call me mad, but the thrill of rushing down a narrow and winding singletrack dodging trees is reason enough to put the power down. Even though I’m probably only going about 10 miles an hour it feels like I’m travelling much faster. It certainly keeps you on your toes.pexels-photo-90454.jpeg

There are many aspects of mountain biking that I love and I could talk about it until everyone has gone home. The rush of a technical downhill section, the impossible climb up the side of a mountain. The new places you travel to and explore with your mates.

Mountain bikers themselves are always happy to have a chat on and off the trails. It doesn’t matter if you know them or if they are a complete stranger, only recently I went out on a ride with a few guys I’d never met. Five minutes in and we were talking as if we’d known each other for years.

With mountain biking, there is the slight downside that it usually requires a bit of travel to get to a specific place to ride. That doesn’t necessarily need to be a bad thing and if you can make a day out of it, it’s great fun. Depending on your location it also allows you to go further afield, to ride and explore new places. My favourite places are definitely the Peak District, Lake District and Wales.

Right, All this talk of mountain biking just makes me want to go and ride.

Until next time.

Jack

19 thoughts on “Mountain Biking

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing! I love your photos and the play on words in the title of your blog! In my mind, I’m an awesome mountain cyclist…always wanted to take mountain biking seriously…but in reality, I’m an out-of-shape 50 year old. LOL! I look forward to reading more from you. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there’s more of us “crazies” out here than we’d like to admit haha! And I totally relate with the riding with strangers thing, super engaging to say the least. If you ever find yourself in the USA up in MT reach out and we can go send!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑